Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alpkit Pipedream 400 vs High End Sleeping bags

Hi folks,

I have been using a PD400 for the last 8 months very happily in all sorts of temperatures.

I have only owned 2 down bagsso do not have much of a benchmark to go from. Anyone have experince of both the current PD400 and comparable high end bags, is there much of a differnce if any.

Thanks,

Stephen

But what's comparable?

Is bringing stuff like a Hispar 400 or yeti passion 500/WM etc into the question really reasonable? Little doubt which you'd rather have I think but there's a massive price differential.

So probably not really. In the end Alpkit really aren't tying to make the utterly best thing possible, but produce something good to a really good price point. Nothing at all wrong with that of course!

The highish end high street bags perhaps rather more reasonable reference points.
    Or maybe those 3/500's that PHD do in their sales. I'd have to pass there.

Hi Martin,

Cheers for the reply.

I think the Mimin 300or ME Xero 350would be in the same ball parkas the PD400. I have a Hispar for winter and I can see the diffences in stitch quality and constrcution but its not a massive differnce either.

Cheers,

Stephen

Cheers,

Stephen

The law of diminishing returns in action.

With Alpkit stuff (judging from my Gamma torch and Wee Airic mats) you get a very substantial proportion of the performance for a much less substantial proportion of the price.

For a more tangible idea of how merely good performs compared to the best, check out relative ratings of, say, Rab and ME basic ranges against their premium stuff.

If you're loaded and/or seriously anal about grammes and/or having the very best (I'm not criticising you if you are, btw, or we'd be in pots/kettlkes/black territory!) then look to changing your bag, otherwise from my personal experience of Alpkit stuff you can rest assured you have a high performing product.

Pete.