Thread: ABC watches

i'm thinking of replacing my old g-shock with something a bit fancier. i've looked at the suunto vector and the suunto core and both seem pretty good bits of kit.

has anyone got any experience with these two watches or with this type of watch? i've never used one before so would like to find out if people think it is worth getting one.

thanks

kenny

Hi Kenny, it is worth getting one. I use my new Casion Pro Trek one all the time. The casio ones are good in that they are solar powered, and have a clever tilt on light so it lights when you hold it up. Sunnto have a handy feature allowing you to view the sea level pressure. Both watches will plot graphs of recent barometric air pressure, so you can see the trend and sort of predict the weather, but you would have thought the sunnto one would plot sea level pressure, but it doesent, it plots actual pressure, so if your ascending and descending it goes off the scale, which is the same for the casio ones. Theyre great tools though. Im very happy with mine. Definately buy from ebay fro abroad, as there arent the same taxes, my Casion was about 100 quid or so, and they sell for over 200 in the UK

Goon
    Had the Vector about 4 years now. Very reliable, replaced batteries just once. It does loads of things, however best for checking altitude at a glance. If you set the altitude to actual at start of climb, it will keep an accurate measure all the way up and down. For £120 it is good value. Get yourslef a neoprene strap for it. This will allow you to wear it over your jacket for quick easy reading. They do a fantastic elastic strap, but it has design flaw that breaks very quickly.

I've had the (most basic) Suunto Altimax for 3 or 4 years now, and an Avocet Vertech for 5 or 6 yearsbefore that(both have altimeter/barometer - I prefer to keep my compass separate). Incredibly useful for navigation, good for geeky stats on your route too, and handy for weather trends.