Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Gym

Having had a really bad couple of years in terms of health I'm trying to regain my full fitness. Luckily we have a full Leisure Centre and Gym 5 minutes walk away where I have unlimited use. I've never used a gym before this week and am looking for advice specific to hillwalking and scrambling, without overdoing it.

Medically the problems have been getting fibreglass stuck in my lungs after ripping out dirty loft insulation, which gave me real breathing problems - this was 3 years ago but really took it's toll over the last couple of years. As if that wasn't enough I had a silent MI earlier this year thanks to the stress of a divorce, moving house and a major client going bust owing me thousands.

It's frustrating not being able to operate at the same pace I used to, and needing constant 30 second to 1 minute breaks - especiaslly on the uphills. Can anyone advise on the best equipment to use? At the moment I'm doing 20 mins on the treadmill, increasing the gradient every 3 mins to reach 25%, then 10 mins on a cross trainer and 1000m on a rowing machine. This is followed by 3 sets of 15 reps on leg bench press, pull ups, sit ups and whatever that machine is called that you push down on to wreck your biceps. It's just about managable, but I'm not sure if it's doing too much on one area (legs)or how often I should be doing it - so am really looking for advice from anyone who uses a gym regularly.

I'm no sports' physio. But swimming and a gentle jog round the park. (After a stretch)

Spend your gym subs down the pub.

Sounds like a good routine Dave, not too disimilar to my my own. Due to a dodgy elbow I cut out the rower and added the step machine in. This has helped me with the uphill bits and doesn't cause any impact injuries.

I suppose the only other thing I may suggest is adding a bike in there for 15 mins gradually increasing the resistance.