Thread: Pacerpoles in TGO

Widdler
    I see Pacerpoles got 'best buy' in the latest TGO trekking pole review. Ive been using them for a couple of years now and have to agree they are unlike any other pole and i wouldn't ever go back to a standard pole now. They dont give you sore wrists/hands and feel much more efficient than a traditional pole. I think the fact that they seem to have analysed walking and designed a pole around that rather than using a ski pole design is testament to their success! It does seem strange that they aren't in more shops - I bought mine from a shop in Ambleside but havent seen them anywhere else. They have updated their website since i last looked (www.pacerpole.com) and you can buy them from there but still odd they aren't more widely availiable.

How many other pacerpolers are out there? and what do you think of them?

Rob

.... little me!

Me. I like them, but don't use them unless I have to.

Are they easier to grip with crubeens then?

;-)

Heh.... I have little crubeen trenches built in...

They certainly feel different. I only bought mine because my trust Leki poles had given up the ghost - Pacerpoles were about the same price.

They are beautifully made and - few reviews mention this - they split dpwn into 3 sections as opposed to Leki's 2 - brilliant for stashing inside a pack when you're putting the pack in an airline hold.

Widdler
    yeah i've no problems with the price like you say they are about the same as a pair of Leki's - which are pretty much like any other pole out there. Pacerpoles seem to be unique and are deffinately worth the upgrade from a standard design pole in my opinion. Especially when you consider how much we spend on the rest of our gear - jackets etc.

I knackered my old Lekis and needed a new pair. Saw Chris Townsend's and orderd them online.

They arrived 2 days later and they feel far better than normal poles walking round the house!!