Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: treating hypothermia in the field

Widdler
    Hello,

I'm a product design student currently designing a treatment for hypothermia in the field; my proposed idea is a highly portable facemask that contains a mechanism which once activated produces warm, moist air- a recognised treatment for hypothermia. I intend this mask to be small enough to be carried within a first aid kit; subsequently the mask is simple and would be superseded once a more sophisticated hypothermia treatment arrived at the casualty such as the RES-Q-AIR 1000. The mask would buy time for the casualty and prevent core body temperature dropping further.

I am posting my idea on this forum to ask viewers of my suggestion whether they think it would be of use, whether there is a need for such a product and if anyone viewing my idea has suffered from hypothermia or know any stories that could benefit my design research such as features my product could include.

Thanks Martin

At what level is your study?
    Is it a major or minor project?

For interest sake have a look here

I'm not qulified in any way to comment however I'd venture to say that if it works and is simple to use it could be a handy first aid treatment for use by group leaders with appropriate training.

Martin

It is worthy of note that several Mountain Rescue teams/regions in this country have ceased using warm air rebreathers like you describe.

I am a first aid trainer and i advise my students against active re-warming methods in the field due to the potential of serious complications/contra-indications in critical hypothermia,however they may prove useful in mild/moderate hypothermia.

The other things to consider are will this be limited in its use on concsious casualties or will this use be extended to the U/C hypothermic as i would suggest that thier reduced respiration rates etc would render this equipment ineffective