Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Boot to stay waterproof longer than a year!

Boot to stay waterproof longer than a year!

I have been using my LOWA Valbona GTX for about 15 months and have been largely happy with them. Until now. Both boots have suddenly started leaking at the same spot.
    Previously my Salomon Quest 4D GTX leaked within a year and thankfully I was refunded in full. So, I am now looking for a pair of fabric boots, preferably B1 rated which might just survive longer than my goldfish and welcome your suggestions. Use: Scottish Highlands, Sutherland bog, occasional crampon use. I'm looking at the likes of Scarpa Marmolada, Mammot Ridge High or similar.

Where do they leak?

Both have started leaking at the instep towards the front, at the ball of the foot if that makes sense.

Widdler
    Lundhags - Shell boots - no gtx liner to fail just really high quality thick leather .. Mine are 8 years old and never leaked - As for the occasional crampon use I can't vouch for their suitability but I dont think their particularly stiff soled - Maybe one boot doesn't work for everything? I've certainly found that to be the case . . Pertaining to your Gortex liners failing you mentioned that they fail in a similar place - near the ball of your foot - Are you ordering online ? Or are you trying on to be certain that fit is perfect ? If a boot is a poor fit this can often cause the boot to crease which will cause Gortex to prematurely fail . . The boot's silhouette so to speak should be relatively intact - if thats not the case and you find your boots looking misshapen due to wear then this means they are a poor fit . Also and apologies if stating the obvious but proof them !

Quote Originally Posted by Noltae View Post