Thread: Terrifying Experience - Vertigo?

Widdler

Terrifying Experience - Vertigo?

Hi

I've been walking for many years and never worried about heights - admittedly I don't get too close to the edge but nothing has ever stopped me walking until recently. My wife and I had returned for our hols in Soller, Majorca and had decided to walk the Archdukes: the guide described it as vertiginous and toe-tingling at times and it was pretty breathtaking. For those who have done this walk you will know the part that leads up to the summit then a fairly sharp left turn to descend; for those who don't know it to the right of this sharp left turn the path is approx 6ft wide with a sheer, unfenced drop. Standing 20ft back and looking at the summit all you can see is the sea to your right and the sky straight ahead, to me it truly looked as if I was going to step off the edge of the Earth. I absolutely froze solid unable to move forwards or backwards convinced that around the summit we would fall off: my wife went and checked just to calm me down and in the minute she was gone I convinced myself she was dead so by the time she returned I was hysterically crying. I eventually managed to let go of the thorny bushes and crawl on my hands and knees, cutting myself to ribbons in the process, until I was able to stand up. The only way I could descend was by keeping my eyes on the ground about 6 ft in front of me. I have never felt terror in my life before.

So, I'm 55, had quite a few scrapes in my life, not generally an anxious or worrying type, and ended up on all fours like a helpless baby.