Thread: National 3 peaks challenge - Novice

Widdler
    Hi, I will be tackling the national 3 peaks challenge next weekend, 14th and 15th of May to raise money for charity. I'm a complete novice when it comes to mountain climbing but there are 2 experienced heads in our group so I'm relatively relaxed about that. We did a training exercise at Snowdon last week so I've had a bit of a taster too (I completed 90% of it. I decided against the final stretch due to the amount of snow and ice and I didn't have crampons). I was just after a bit of advice on the other 2, Ben Nevis and Scafell Pike. What are they like as climbs? Will I be able to scale them as a novice? I'm also interested in what the conditions are currently like and what they are likely to be like come next weekend? Has anybody climbed them over the past day or 2? When we attempted Snowdon last week there was plenty of snow starting from half way up. Will they likely be much clearer with the nicer weather we are having now? Any help or advice appreciated. Thanks

Initiate
    Before anyone comes on and jumps down Toms's throat regarding national 3 peaks pros and cons..based on you are going next week, here are my thoughts

Ben Nevis - you will come across significant amounts of snow and ice.

see here posted today
    http://lochaberblog.sais.gov.uk/2016/05/spring-snow/

Scafell Pike - I was up that way two weeks ago and didnt see any significant snow (though I was further east than ScaFell Pike. Given the "normal route" up I dont think you will come across anything unavoidable, but someone else might drift in with up to date info.

Snowdon...Id be surprised if you come across much now

Ultra King AT (http://AyrshireTiger.wordpress.com/)'s Avatar