Thread: Getting on the Glyders

Widdler

Hello there,

I'm a landscape photographer who's fell in love with Snowdonia and although I've had little mountaineering experience in general, I've set myself to summit the Glyders, either from Cwum Idwal or following the Miner's track that starts from Pen y Gwryd.

I'm planning my next visit there in about two weeks time and would appreciate if someone could possibly advice me on the best kind of boots/crampons to use.Last time I went there (about two weeks ago) I had to give up trying to summit Snowdon and Y Garn because of the snow and generalinadequacy of my equipment.

Also, which route to the summits of the Glydersdo you think would be best suited to a beginner like me?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks

Francesco

Initiate

Winter conditions in Snowdonia are very unpredictable. If you have no previous experience of using an axe and crampons I would definitely not go if their use is required. If the present run of weather continues the tops of the Glyders will probably be snow free in a few weeks. However, that could easily change.

If you want an almost minute by minute update on Snowdonia winter conditions you could follow thisthread on UK Climbing.

Both routes you suggest should be fine. However, you should be confident in navigating with a map and compass in case of bad weather. The route up from the Devils Kitchen involves a steep slog up an eroded scree slope on Glyder Fawr. Not difficult, but not very pleasant. Something you might want to factor into your plans.

as has already been said: if you're not used to winter conditions and don't know how to actually use and axe and crampons, they're less than worthless. A photographer recently fell 150ft on the Glyders and had to be airlifted off:
    http://www.ogwen-rescue.org.uk/incidents/incidents.php