Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: please help me with my dissertation

Widdler
    hi, i am a final year university student and am writting my thesis. i am a keen walker and am writting about whether the development of walking equipment has all been good.

i'm playing with the idea that walking is as much about getting back to and seeing nature than challenging yourself and that new manmade materials and technologies can get in the way of the 'communication' process between the walker (us) and nature.

what do you guys think?? can the overwhealming presents of man made products get in the way of the reason for hill walking??

As a senior examiner, the first thing that screamed out at me was your English.

Writing
    overwhelming
    presence

Sorry, but it got in the way of your message

I love overwhelming presents! ;-)

not the manmade and man made uncertainty?

I love presents, any presents

See what I mean, David - you've totally lost the meaning....

David,

Most 'outdoor equipment' enhances my enjoyment of 'getting out there' and indeed, some kit enables you to go and do things that would otherwise be difficult (e.g. crampons). There are exceptions to this: notably, a new rucksack with built in speakers...

By the way...

How did Darth Vader know what Luke Skywalker had got him for Christmas?

He felt his presents!! :-)

And a tent that flashes when you call it ??????????????????

But the fact that the more advanced fabrics and designs allow us to get out in all climates and conditions has too be seen as an improvement. Do we want to go back to the heavy wool jackets and plus fours of yesteryear?

David I did my dissertation on the economic impacts of outdoor pursuits on the Peak National Park, not too dissimilar a subject. To do mine I had to physically get out and talk to people actually taking part in activities, place magic eye counters on major roads into the area, talk directly to councils and industries etc.