Thread: Tarp or Tent?

Widdler

Hey everyone,

Please note this is not a which tent, or which tarp, but a which is likely to be better for my situation.

If i decide on a tent, it will either be the Vango banshee 200 or the Zeypheros (sp?) 2 tent. If i go the route of getting a tarp and associated bits, ill be purchasing the Rig 7 from Alpkit along with rope and pegs from them too.

I am trying to work out which is the best for my situation. I am without a doubt a newbie when it comes to wild camping. I have plenty of car camping experience and did loads when younger but no experience of camping wild. I plan to visit the usual places (Lakes, Peaks, Wales) to do some 2 or 3 day walking excursions, but i also plan to do some long distance cycling and camp wild whilst i do so (LEJOG is on the radar along with cycling to the Isle of Man and mainland Europe).

Price & weight dont seem to matter, as when i have purchased all i will need for the tarp, it will run me at a similar cost to purchasing a small, lightweight tent and weigh similar too. It boils down to the privacy of a tent or the flexibility of a tarp & bivi bag.

So what would you reccomend for a beginner with the plans i have? Would you go for the compact lightweight-ish tent or the tarp for the road? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Zog

A tent gives more shelter and protection from the elements. To use a tarp you're using experience to compensate for the relative lack of protection, so as a beginner I'd suggest a tent. If you get it wrong with a tarp it's more likley to go properly wrong, which isn't so good.

Pete.

Mini Goon

Tent. Definitely. A few random reasons why:

1. You can pitch it at a campsite without getting your gear nicked...yes, I know you're wild camping but very occasionally the lure of a hot shower or bacon butty is hard to resist.