Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Navigation

Mini Goon

Hello, although I have a lot of experience of living in the mountains, I did not need to develop my navigation skills because I knew the area well.

I am looking at the MLS award, however, obviously I need to improve my navigation. Does anybody have any pointers on improving important skill? I have enquired about the NNAS but would like to develop my knowledge before I start.

Thanks.

‹bermensch
    Wildman:

There are several ways of improving your navigational skills including

Books
    Classes run by organizations such as the Ramblers and outdoor centres
    Orienteering clubs

To become an all-round competent navigator you need to be aware that navigation in lowland countryside is often more difficult than route-finding in fair weather in upland areas.

Books that cover navigation in both upland and lowland areas in the UK:
    Hawkins, Pete, Map and Compass; the Art of Navigation, Cicerone Press.
    Keay, Wally, Land Navigation, Routefinding with Map & Compass, Duke of Edinburgh's Award.
    Tippett, Julian, Navigation for Walkers, Cordee.
    Wilson, John G,. Follow the Map; the Ordnance Survey Guide, A.C.Black/Ordnance Survey.

Books that only cover navigation in upland areas in the UK:
    Cliff, Peter, Mountain Navigation, published by the author at the Ardenbeg Outdoor Centre, Grantown-on-Spey, Morayshire PH26 3LD.
    Langmuir, Eric, Mountaincraft and Leadership, Mountain Leader Training Board.
    Long, Stephen, Hillwalking; the Official Handbook of the Mountain Leader and Walking Group Leader Schemes, published by the Mountain Leader Training UK.
    Walker, Kevin, Mountain Navigation Techniques, Constable.

In a class of its own is
    Brotherton, Lyle, The Ultimate Navigation Manual, Collins.