Thread: Garmin Etrex Legend hcx

At the end of my tether trying to download anything with this gps. I managed to download one geocache! I've spend hours trying to figure it out but am fed up wasting precious time. I'm not very technical and am not prepared to spend long hours battling with an expensive bit of kit that should basically just work. I know its probably me or my laptops' fault but can anyone give me any simple pointers? Thanks!

More of an idea of what is going wrong would help....PC/GPS messages and so forth...?

As ed says, what are you using? Memory map, anquet or what ?

Trying to use OS getamap (also tried trailzilla), maybe my laptop needs upgrading and isn't coping with any of it.
    What do sites do you suggest are best for Garmin?

Os getamap is shite. It's a magnitude far worse than even memory map.

Buy some proper mapping. Most are cheap for 50k mapping and will behave nicely with your gps.

There are other ways of doing it if you want, imo, the cheap and difficult to use solutions.

Hi, I'm new to this site and this is my first post...

I've used a Garmin Legend HCx for geo-caching since July 2010, and with it I've had more than 500 finds. I decided to change it for one of the new Garmin Etrex 20's just a few weeks ago. I've got to say that the Legend HCx is a very capable GPS'r. If theres anything that I can help you with then just email me with the details of what you're have problems with and I'll do my best to help. Loading geocaches shouldn't take more than a few seconds. Mapping is another matter that I can help with, full OS based UK maps can also be loaded free of charge - these are regularly updated too - all free!

Email me if you think I can help you.

Best regards,

Croesgadwr (translation = 'Crusader' in Welsh)

Thanks Brian, I will!

number seven