Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Travel Tap Water Filter

Hi guys and gals - just wanted to share my experience of the Travel Tap water filter and the Supalite Waterbag.

I've been using the Travel Tap water filter for a couple of years now (mainly Brecon and Dartmoor) and have found it to be a truly dependable piece of kit. I tend to use it to filter for two people (which means we only need to take a litre of water each). However, I've been on the lookout for an alternative which doesn't require quite so much effort for 2 people.

It turns out that Drinksafe (makers of the Travel Tap) also have a water filter bag (available as the Supalite and the Maxi). In essence the filter bags are dry bags that you fill with water and hang from a tree / post / hiking pole and allow the water to gravity feed through a hose and water filter cartridge.

I purchased the Supalite bag (perfect for small groups) and have used it a couple of times in Dartmoor (where the water is frequently heavy with sediment and strong peat taste). The Supalite filters out everything (delivering around 300-400ml of water per minute with zero effort). The quality of the components are top notch so I can easliy recommend the product.

I'd also like to say a very big thank you to Giles (the chap who runs www.drinksafe-systems.co.uk) who was incredibly helpful and went well past the routine customer service we expect these days.

I've had a 'bike bottle' Travel Tap for a while - the earlier one with the bottom screw cap. I've used it everywhere from English rivers to Morrocan hostels. I can get about half a litre of fresh water in about a minute. Weighs about 160 grams.

Its a pity that this isn't more widely available as I'd like to give it a go!

tis a great product. you can get reasonable amounts from a gravity fed bladder type container e.g. a source liquitainer coupled with the inline filter.

great kit.

http://www.outdoorsmagic.com/forum/f...last=1&V=1&SP=

(sod it. can't do links)