Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: mobile or Satmap

Widdler
    How do the GPS systems in the most up to date mobiles compare withe the likes of Satmap Garmin et al

I use View Ranger on a Samsung Touch screen and its very good, I have never used Satmap so cant compare but View Ranger is very slick.

Ultra King Ddyrchafedig Gyrrwr (Beic Modur)'s Avatar
    The biggest problems with the phone type systems compared to dedicated units seems to be battery life.

it very much depends upon what you want a gps for. a dedicated unit probably offers far more funtionality than something bolted onto another device.
    i have no experience of mobile phone gps but have used garmins and now have a satmap.

Hello Mark,

I have an iphone 4 (which I Love) and a Satmap 10. I have downloaded a free Ap called Imapmyhike which is very impressive but it does need a 3g connection to load basic goole maps but not to recored a route as it uses the built in GPS. I do have an OS ap too but again it needs a phone connection to view the maps and it often isnt available for some reason. I know there are are other aps for Memory map and Anquet but haven't used these. On top of the poor battery life of the iphone i wouldn't have it out in the open in wet weather as it would cost a fortune to replace. I also think the Satmap is fantastic as i have mentioned before I wouldn't want to be with out it. The battery pack that i think comes with the Active 10 sport or as an extra works for hours and quite often i will get a couple of walks out of it before needing to recharge . On top of that its waterproof and I never worry about it getting wet. So summing up in my opinion the Iphone is great but no substitute for my Satmap 10 on the hills.

Hope this helps

James

Widdler

Thanks guys that is some food for thought.

Haven't made up my mind but if only you could get a weather forecast on a Satmap!