Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: peak district walks

Widdler

hello

im a student currently working towards my ml and was just looking for suggestions on suitable walks in the peak district

thanks

V-Publishing do a decent Peaks walking guide that you should be able to track down locally, lots of good stuff around Kinder, Bleaklow etc.

Widdler
    cheers for the info

Widdler
    Def Kinder, really a amazing location

My old pal Mark Richards has just updated his classic Peak District books.

Free walks for the viewing...

Northern book...

Southern book...

Widdler

If you're not too confident in planning your own routes take a trip to Hathersage and visit the Outside shop in the village centre.

They stock a selection of walking guides/books of the whole area so you can match your capability to a route.

Stephen Hall

Edale is nice. from edale go up grindsbrook up on to kinder. Also a must is kinder downfall. I would go to kinder downfall from Hayfield.

If you like avoiding crowds and like a remote feel go up Kinder from the snake (A57) via fairbrook up to Fairbrook naze and back down Blackden brook.Also Alport castles is a seldom visited spot and is stunning (google images) carry on up the valley which again is stunning and then look out for the memorial to the four scouts that died during an event called the 4 Inns then return via Doctors gate culvert or Oyster clough. There is the B29 superfortress wreck on Bleaklow again Google images, there is a Blenheim Bomber wreck a couple of clicks further down the Pennine way and there is loads of stuff of interest in the area look at an OS map or http://wtp2.appspot.com/wheresthepath.htm and look at all the different stones marked on the map,They are all worth visiting .

By the way the terrain in the Dark peak should not be underestimated, the ground is often boggy and therefore energy sapping,distances off path should be treated as considerably harder than on path due to the varied terrain.