Thread: 3 peaks in April

Widdler

Is anyone up for the 3 peaks challenge in April?? myself and a friend are hoping to do it and also need a driver??

Who else is up for coming along, maybe fashion a sort of 3 peaks challenge race?

Why not do the welsh 3000s instead - you wont need a driver then, it's harder and you'll save on fuel.

No thanks. Take a look at http://www.blencathra.org.uk/ukrw/n3pc.html for some reasons to think about an alternative challenge.

Widdler

However, Peter I have lots of experience on mountains and munroes so fingers crossedI won't be needing a mountain rescue team called out, by paying for fuel and campsites at the start and beginning I will be contributing to local economies, consider that the driver spends 5 hours in the towns surrounding the 3 peaks thus spending money, I take a strong approach about littering and IDO NOT EVER litter, I want to do it in the best time possible thus will save my eating for the car journeys, I have also always been taught "leave only foot-prints, take only photographs" If a driver was to speed between destinations then it would be obvious and is against the rules of the challenge and somewhat less importantly UK law, can you honestly say you always obey speed limits??

And due to the amount of energy one would use trying to summit the 3-peaks then I don't think water would cut it as a form of hydration, due to the lack of necessarynutrients i.e. salt and sugar required for the physical exertion to complete the 3 peaks.

So whilst some so-called mountaineers may cheat and do not do anything to help our image, most of us are good guys.

You're on a hiding to nowt, hawthorn; you'll find precious little support for the so-called challenge on here I'm afraid.

If you're that experienced you'll find it way too easy anyway. Do the Welsh 3000s instead. Or the Bob Graham Round. Plenty of scope for record breaking on those

Widdler