Thread: Mozzies

Ultra King
    I read somewhere recently that due to the increase in cases of Malaria in the UK, due to travel abroad. The 'native' mozzie is becoming a carrier of Malaria by biting infected people. Does any one know if this is correct, I can't find the article I read to check it.

‹bermensch
    A piece, I think on Countryfile, a couple of months ago. They were catching the introduced mossie which carries maleria. Don't think our native mossie can carry it, till evolution has a say I guess.

I am not an expert at (at all) on the subject, but I believe some British native mosquitos are capable of transmitting the parasite, and malaria was endemic in the marshy areas of southern England (e.g. the Fens, the Somerset Levels and around the Thames estuary) until those areas were largely drained in the 18th century.

The latest copy of TGO had an article on insect repellant/creams etc and it was mentioned then about the mozzie's being able to carry diseases like malaria. Interesting reading.

On that note, if you want I can scan and email a copy of the page (probably against all rules)

‹bermensch

The telly piece I saw explained that the maleria mossie rests at an angle to the alighting surface i,e butt in the air ,whereas the other mossies rest parallel to the surface, just so you know which ones to swat.

Initiate

I contracted Malaria in 89 firstly in Zaire and then a couple of months latter againin Zimbabwe.On my return to the u.k I was admitted to the hospital for infectious diseases were they decided I had Malaria and Typhoid.Anyway one of the doctors there told me 500 to 1000 people a year contract Malaria who have not recently (enough) been abroad.Don,t know how true that is...

I was in hospital for 6 weeks (mainly isolation) but have not had any malaria problems since 92.

Didn't Henry VIII die from malaria?