Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 50

Thread: Forum Conduct

  1. #21
    Ultra King
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    12,456


    Martin carpenter said,

    "Cut and paste easier."

    Really? .

  2. #22
    Ultra King Martin Carpenter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,835


    Less abstruse perhaps

    Coming from e-mail clients/usenet you'd expect something like a 'reply' button which included the thing you were replying to as a quote. Much less need to quote stuff when its there a few posts up of course!

  3. #23
    Ultra King
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    12,456
    Doesn't "easier" mean "less abstruse"? Just asking

  4. #24
    Initiate
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    973
    Neither Firefox or Chrome have a Quote button here. Also the quote button doesn't seem to appear in the page source. I suspect that it is probably some Javascript widget that needs debugging.

    Quoting properly is much better than just cut and paste as the quoted part of the post is then much more obvious. As a workaround, depending on the forum software you can probably just put the correct tag around the bit you want to quote after you cut and paste it. The tag is probably something like blockquote.

    Ian.



  5. #25
    Ultra King Frum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    19,193
    I use Firefox and find the OM quote arrangements work well with it.

  6. #26
    Ultra King
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    12,456
    It could be your antivirus...oops you've a Mac, haven't you?

  7. #27
    Initiate
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    973
    No I don't have a Mac and I don't have either anti virus software running on this computer, or any viruses

    Ian.

  8. #28
    Übermensch John Burley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,873


    so it's a linux machine?

    'cause if you've an unprotected PC then I doubt you'd be virus free for long! I run antivirus software on my mac; both free (clam) and commercial. Neither has ever told me that they've encountered a virus but as I transfer files around with my work PC I can't risk passing something on via my mac.

  9. #29
    Ultra King
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    12,456
    I was going to say that Kaspersky which I have installed on my PC has completely messed up the link and quote facilities on OM. I can't post images or videos either. I'm sure there's a way of curing that but I don't find it very user friendly. One good thing though, is its virtual keyboard but if it's doing its job properly it should block keystroke capture malware anyway.

  10. #30
    Initiate
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    973
    Yes it's running Linux. I do run a clamav scanner on incoming email to get rid of all the viruses that Windows users send me

    Ian.

  11. #31
    Super Moderator captain paranoia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    10,962
    Quote Originally Posted by geekinthesticks View Post
    Neither Firefox or Chrome have a Quote button here.
    Quote created using Firefox.

    There isn't a 'button'. There's a text hyperlink underneath the post you wish to quote. Press this to copy the entire post.

    Then, in the WYSIWYG toolbar (you have got WYSIWYG edit turned on haven't you?) above the composition window, press the quotation mark (last item on the toolbar).

    Edit the quoted comment to leave only the bit you really want to quote.

    Personally, I just cut and paste, and prefix with a >

    > Neither Firefox or Chrome have a Quote button here.

    Doesn't insert a link to the source post, though.

  12. #32
    Initiate
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    973
    >There isn't a 'button'. There's a text hyperlink underneath the post >you wish to quote. Press this to copy the entire post.

    Thanks, but I don't see this. Just to be clear is this in the same place as "Message member", "Ignore member" and "Send to a friend".

    Ian.


  13. #33
    Mini Goon
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    204
    Yes, just to the right of 'Send to a friend'. (Another Firefox user here, on Windows, and quoting works fine).

  14. #34
    Initiate
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    973
    Quote Originally Posted by Graeme Cogger 2 View Post
    Yes, just to the right of 'Send to a friend'. (Another Firefox user here, on Windows, and quoting works fine).

    Aha! Got it working in Firefox now, but not in Chrome. It's not in the page source either in Chrome. Off to Google to file a Chrome bug.

    Ian.

  15. #35
    Übermensch no longer the 'office manager''s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,598


    I couldn't find it either at first but if you go to 'my profile' then 'my forum' and in 'Forum Editor' turn on 'Advanced WYSIWYG Editor' the 'quote' thingy appears next to 'Send to friend'

    Simplez, not!

    Now all I'd like is the 'Latest Posts' link thingy updater button added to the bottom of the page, then I wouldn't have to keep scrolling up when I've read someting, to get the latest!

  16. #36
    Ultra King
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    12,456
    Yes, it was a really retrograde step when they did away with that in the "re-design". AKA, a pain in the arse.

  17. #37
    Ultra King Mrs Nesbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    21,279
    Stick a bookmark of the Latest Posts page on your toolbar, No longer the OM.

  18. #38
    Übermensch Ray !!!!!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,766


    jon, i cant start a new thread in any of the sections and i cannot message any members.

    i have deleted my browsing history and still no joy.

  19. #39
    Übermensch ShoutsAtQuietMice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,874


    Why can't i access my account. ?

    Have i been banned John. ?

    If so, why. ?

    twiglegs.

  20. #40
    coco
    Guest


    Good. Thank you lord, even to this forum. We will term civilization. Hope we do better. We are here to discuss the issue. And not to pollute the forum.



    Classic Boots ListenRead phonetically

Similar Threads

  1. OM Members' Code of Conduct
    By Ed Greenland in forum Soapbox
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 11-01-2016, 02:23 PM
  2. Urgent Note For Forum Members Re OM Forum PM Function.
    By Trevor D Gamble in forum Soapbox
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 15-10-2009, 08:48 PM
  3. Forum Code of Conduct...
    By Jon Doran in forum Soapbox
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-06-2007, 09:59 AM
  4. Group Conduct
    By Graham Coe in forum Starting out?
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 23-04-2007, 09:53 PM
  5. New Forum Code of Conduct
    By Jon Doran in forum Soapbox
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 14-03-2002, 10:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •