Thread: Bags to boil boil in the bags / lwwf

Finally found some lwwf meals at waitrose but it seems the paper labels are welded on so it looks like i'll have to boil them in another bag.

Can anyone tell me what i should be looking for in the local asda, i've never used "boilable" bags before.

Ps, are the gum and dyes actually harmfull, i don't mind weird coloured smash but i don't want to poison myself.

Sorry for the dumb questions, the missus and kids and the inlaws are all sunning it up in turkey and i'm useless with food unless it's a wayfarer.

Ultra King

Ultra King Jamie @ www.trekkingbritain.com's Avatar
    I use Pour and Store bags you can find in places like Tesco. Great things, I bought six about a year ago and use them in the kitchen all week for storing things and then some weekends take them on the hills, they last years!

Pour and Store bags are excellent for rehydrating stuff, but I think for boil in the bag I'd go with Mal's suggestion - they're more malleable and it'll be easier to squish the thing full of LWWF food into the pot of boiling water.

Thanks for the replies.

Initiate
    These are much cheaper than the Baco ones, and are fairly bombproof.

Morrissons are doing LWWF for £1.30 at the moment.

This question about the labels and the ink dyes keeps cropping up on this forum. Isn't it time someone asked LWWF for a definitive statement? I mean, for all anyone knows, the labels are harmless, but the experts are surely LWWF themselves. They might be happy to sell their packs without labels, though knowing the way the Nanny State operates, I'm sure that would be against the law and we'd all risk death by nut allergy or something.

Super Moderator captain paranoia's Avatar

A better question to ask might be "why have a paper label anyway? why not print the plastic package? or why not use a glue that allows the label to be peeled off?".

These questions could be asked quite generically about packaging. The last one especially...