Thread: Sussex--Hants Border

Widdler

Hello all i am neil...i am on the Sussex-Hants border and i am new to walking.

I am looking for walking partners or organised hiking events.

Also for all you gear nuts i am looking for pretty much everything equipment wise(all i have is a bag)i have a 250 budget for the rest so any ideas will be greatly recieved.

Hi Niel,

Welcome to the forum.

Giving people a sum and carte blanche to make suggestions will get plenty of responses.

What bag do you have by the way?

Yes, welcome Neil! Might be worthwhile starting a few separate kit suggestions posts off on the forum; as these welcome posts, good as they are,do tend to otherwise get rather lost in the meleee of all the latest posts ok!

Widdler
    Neil, hi. I'd say start with the my big five: Tent, Sleeping bag, Backpack, Boots and Cook Set. Get these right, first time, and save yourself a packet in the long run. Make up your mind about weight - what camp you are going to be in; light weight, ultra light and so on...Then set your stall out accordingly. Don't buy because it looks good, buy something because it does the job you intend it for. I'd suggest you read all the forums, this takes time and will give you a better insight to what people are using. Home and abroard - the people across the pond who backpack have some interesting ideas. But you have to bear in mind that they also have a different climate to the Uk to contend with. Still, its all food for thought. Take a look at The Backpackers Club for useful help to. There are some good people there who can help and give 'working' advice. But do you research I think I saw an artical in a past TGO that got you kitted out for under your budget. I'll go and see if I can find it and get back to you later. But what ever you do, do... Make sure its enjoyable, other wise, what is the point?

the budget of 250 would tend to veer from anything "light"