Thread: long sleeve t-shirt for summer use

Widdler

The summer is coming... and I need some new light T-shirts for walking in hot weather.

My requirements are:

*long sleeve for sun protection

*bug (mosquito) protection

*highly odour resistant fabric (very important)

I have an Icebreaker Tech Tee 140 (merino) and I can wear it happily in hottest summer days. I also have a Montane Bionic T with short sleeves and it works very well in hot weather. But I have no experience with long sleeved versions of this T-shirts.

Do you own long sleeved Montane Bionic or Terra T or some 140g/m2 long sleeved T-shirts from Icebreaker? Do you wear them in summer? Or do you wear something else for sun protection? Thanks

Ultra King

Nike Dri-fit works for me and makes a nice base layer for the winter.

For the odour ...........a Lynx bullet.

I just wear short sleeved t-shirts in summer. Like you, i love my Icebreaker Tech Tee.

Midgies/mossie only seem to bother me when i stop walking, or sitting around camp. I then stick on a long sleeved Pertex windshirt and a head-net.

I have a Patty Silkweight LS T I use sometimes in the summer; works fine.

Initiate

Andy,

Have a look at Chocolate Fish merino base layers link here

Just one thing - if you're relying on a long sleeved top + sun hat for sun coverage then the collar type does matter.

A crew cut top leaves an annoying area at the bottom of your neck which the shade from the hat doesn't cover. I discovered this over ~two weeks walking back 'last' summmer. (2006 ).

A zip neck does a better job. A fold up collar even better but they're quite rare in merino.

Icebreaker have polo shirts but I've not looked at the collars on them. Chocolate fish did just introduce a short sleeved polo shirt with a collar which will certainly fold up nicely to cover your neck. No long sleeved version as yet and 190 weight so perhaps a touch warmer than your other bits.