Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Geko 201 query

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Metric Kate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    42,471


    Just for fun I had my Geko 201 on for yesterday's walk, and it would be even more fun to upload it to my computer - I have Memory Map - and see precisely where I walked. Inevitably I've lost the destructions that came with the Geko. Does anyone know if it's possible to do this, and if so how (bearing in mind that I'm not a techno-wizard).

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Mini Goon Cow Pie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    194


    Hi Kate...

    Your Geko 201 manual is downloadable from here

    Hope it helps byeeeee

  3. #3
    Übermensch "Cunning" Duncan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    2,659


    Have you a connecting cable, Kate? For example, this one?

    I'd tried using a connertor cable between my old serial cable and a USB cable, but no joy, so ended up paying full whack for it. It is a lot for a cable but it did the job

    Once connected, you can import marks, routes and tracks from the GPS unit. And you can export them from the mapping software too.

    If you export your "overlay" files regularly, that acts as your backup in case of problems.

  4. #4
    Ultra King Matt C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    21,692


    I've not got mine in front of me, but it's not difficult. At the Geko end, you may need to set Setup, System, Interface (or something like that) to Garmin, but otherwise just switch it on and plug it in.

    At the MemoryMap end I'm not sure if it'll auto-detect the gps or whether you'll need to tell it which COM Port the gps is attached through. After that it's just wherever the MM Upload/ Download menu is.....

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Metric Kate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    42,471
    Thanks chaps, got the route imported. Now, is there any way to edit it? For some bizarre reason I've got a couple of kms of rogue tracklog at the start of the walk and I'd like to get rid of it if possible.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator captain paranoia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    10,963


    Well, if you can get the .gpx file, you can just open it up with a text editor (e.g. WordPad) and delete the unwanted points...

    A memory-map .gpx file is just anXML file, andstarts like this:







    2152007-09-08T09:58:45Z
    2152007-09-08T09:59:19Z
    2152007-09-08T09:59:37Z

    Just delete the 'trkpt' you don't want.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator captain paranoia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    10,963
    The 'trkpt' lines have wrapped...

  8. #8
    Ultra King Matt C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    21,692


    Can't you just select the necessary trackpoints one at a time and delete them in MM?

    If a track doesn't have visible points then you could convert it to a route, and then delete the waypoint s from that. I think

    Have a play - if you've not deleted the track from the Geko yet then you've always got a backup.

    Btw, with the Geko track page, you'll see the %used figure displayed against the track memory - I always make a point of clearing this to 0% immediately before starting any walk I want to record.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Metric Kate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    42,471


    Er... actually it was terribly easy

    But I wouldn't have got there without the suggestions above. If you highlight the 'track' that appears on MM, you have an option to 'convert to Route' through 'Operations', and then it was a doddle to delete the offending rogue waypoints. Interestingly, the 21km walk I actually went on has now been reduced to 19.2km

  10. #10
    Übermensch no longer the 'office manager''s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,598


    You may also find it useful to 'right click' on the track and select 'remove velocity spike' especially if you've lost the signal at any point during your walk. This usually happens in wooded areas.

    It amazing how many miles you can lose this way!

  11. #11
    Initiate Richard G.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    742


    The tracklog interval is also a factor. Long interval leads to your winding path being straightened out a little. Not sure what the default is on the 201 though.

    I've also found that coverting Tracks to Routes in MM can cause some straightening too.

  12. #12
    Übermensch no longer the 'office manager''s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,598
    You can set that yourself, either a time or distance interval and you can vary either. I use time and my mate uses distance. We end up with more or less the same results!

  13. #13
    Widdler
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1
    Can anyone offer any advice or recommend a repair shop. My geko 201 has stopped working and won't switch on . Being a 50 year old grunter I'm not the best with technology. Thanks in advance. I'm in the Liverpool area by the way

Similar Threads

  1. Geko 201 usb query
    By "Cunning" Duncan in forum Gear
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 24-04-2014, 01:28 AM
  2. Stove query
    By Craig H in forum Gear
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 06-11-2008, 06:40 PM
  3. Baselayer Query
    By StevieC Cally in forum Gear
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 05-02-2007, 07:23 PM
  4. Memorymap Query
    By Keith Lackie in forum Starting out?
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 09:52 PM
  5. geko query
    By Metric Kate in forum Starting out?
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-10-2006, 08:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •