Thread: Water Filters

Hey guys, thanks for all the responses to my last post about going wild camping, I'm seriously trying to plan a trip to Scafell overnight now. Any advice will be greatly appreciated, particularly to do with water filters/system? I have a 2L bladder which will fit nicely in my (soon to be purchased) Atmos, though how will I fill it up overnight? Do people use the tablets or the little pump and hose type systems I've seen? Any thoughts guys?! Cheers.*

I use a little MSR miniworks filter pump, its pretty small and light and does the trick. Flow rate is nothing like what you are led to beleive though, it takes about 10 mins to fill my 2 litre bladder, whcih conviniently screws directly onto the filter. My bladder is a source one, and MSR deromatory bags fit too, not sure about others.

I have no personal experience with tablets, but prefer not to use them, and I hate chemical tastes anyway, hence the filter.

If i were to buy again though, I would pay he extra money for the steripen, which I'm sure someone can link to s I dont have the address, that thing looks/sounds awesome, andI think I would hav gladly payed the extra 60 quid for it rather then my MSR

Here's a link for the Steripen. It's a fantastic piece of kit, far, far easier, quicker (1.5 mins to process a litre of water) and less hassle than any filter system or tablets, and it doesn't alter the flavour of the water at all. Make sure you take a spare set of batteries though.

Also, you will need a wide-mouthed bottle to be able to use it -eg the Nalgene type. For a very light, Platypus-style wide-mouthed bottle, take a look at the Nalgene Canteen. The 1.5l version weighs all of 64g.

Also, if you have to take water from, say, a pool rather than clear fast-flowing stuff and there are physical bits in it, it's best to filter these out first by pouring through a piece of microfibre cloth - we use either a Buff or a small square cut from a microfibre towel.