Thread: Use of a confidence rope

Mini Goon
    I'm looking for some advice here. Soon I'll be heading up to climb An Teallach with a friend and most guide books I've read mention that when scrambling over the more exposed parts of the ridge then to 'rope-up' would be a good idea.

I've never used a rope for scrambling before and would welcome all advice on what to use and techniques on how to use it. I'm aware of 'confidence rope' and assume that's the sort of thing to use but, as I said, I've never used one!

I'm aware I'm asking for alot of information here - which may well be impossible to get over in a few lines - but anything will help.

Thanks

OK I think its more than impossible to get over in a few lines, a 3000 word essay wont do it.

You may well get some sdvice but I really believe that the only way to learn rope work is to learn be going out with some one who knows what they are doing and has the patience and ability to get that information across to you.
    This may mean paying for a scrambling course and I can recomend an instructor if you want one.

It may mean going out with more experienced friends if you know the right people.Take into account that a mistake may be fatal, and sometimes has been.

You can buy books and you can listen to what people here have to say but its not the same.
    The written word is a great tool to build on and re enforce the basic skills but you need to go out and do and be shown to really understand.

Initiate Professor Pat. Pending's Avatar
    I've done the An Teallach traverse and was a bit disappointed with it. From memory (10 years ago) all difficulties can be bypassed on an easy traverse path, which kind of removed away any real danger or excitement for me.