Thread: Starting out kit?

Widdler

Starting out kit?

Newbie here looking for advice.

Currently we walk about 5miles 3-5 per week on mostly pavements and want to do more scenic routes with the wife and our two youngest who are 7&10 so for the next few years the walks will be fairly easy.

My list so far is.

Dry wicking base layer and t shirt.
    Fleece/3 in 1 jacket.
    Walking trousers
    Walking shoes
    Hiking socks
    Hat, scarves and gloves
    Packable waterproofs

Rucksacks
    Maps, compass
    First aid kit
    Flashlight
    Pocket knife
    Toilet roll

Is there anything I need to add to list other than water and foodstuff, some recommendations for for good reliable kit that won't break the bank would also be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by Thebigeasy View Post
    Newbie here looking for advice.

Currently we walk about 5miles 3-5 per week on mostly pavements and want to do more scenic routes with the wife and our two youngest who are 7&10 so for the next few years the walks will be fairly easy.
    First thing is that easy walks don't really require any special kit, just as long as your shoes are comfortable and you've enough to keep warm.

My list so far is.

Dry wicking base layer and t shirt.
    Fleece/3 in 1 jacket.
    Walking trousers
    Walking shoes
    Hiking socks
    Hat, scarves and gloves
    Packable waterproofs
    A "technical base layer" is a good thing, but unless what you're already wearing isn't cutting the mustard it's not something you need to worry about too much. The next time Lidl or Aldi have a walking special you'll be able to get perfectly acceptable ones for a few pounds, but a lot of people walk plenty of distances in cotton T-shirts and it's not actually a problem.