Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Youtube and harmful videos

Youtube and harmful videos

As I watched yet another awful Youtube video of yet another pyromaniac claiming to be a "Leave-No-Trace wild-camper" whilst proudly showing everyone the fire he had lit on the ground on Dartmoor, a thought suddenly struck me... I cannot be the only person in the world watching these videos in utter frustration and wanting their example removed from the face of the Earth - so what do other people think about things like this in relation to wild-camping and what, if anything, do they do about it?

I have been wild-camping for more than 45 years. I soon discovered Dartmoor, close to where I lived. Wild-camping there is encouraged by Dartmoor National Park Authority (DNPA) and they provide several pages of guidance useful to wild-campers on their website. Amongst the DNPA information it makes plain several times that fires are not to be lit there. The same prohibition exists in other National Parks. This may well be because, according to the fire-brigade, 90% of harmful wild-fires in countryside locations are started by human action - small wonder then, that fires are banned in such places. DNPA provide Section 11 of the Dartmoor Commons Act 1985 for reading within their online pages, and item 8 therein states "No person shall light a fire on the access land, or place or throw or let fall a lighted match or any other thing so as to be likely to cause a fire. This Byelaw shall not prevent the lighting or use in such a manner as not to cause danger of or damage by fire of a properly constructed camping stove or cooker". All clear on what that means? Good, then I shall continue...